top of page

Ultra Light Travel Tips

Have a getaway weekend coming up? Learn some tips and tricks to traveling light when it comes to weekend air travel!



Welcome! If you are reading this, I'm assuming that you are preparing for a weekend getaway to some fabulous location where you'll post pics of how much fun you're having. How you're never leaving, and someone needs to ship your dog there. Because you are never coming home.

Or maybe you just want to learn how to travel without carrying so many bags, and avoiding checking in a bag at the airport. Either way, welcome! and let's dig into the good stuff.


“Only bring the essentials. Is easier said than done.”

A couple weeks ago I went on a 4 day vacation to Florida. It was my first time ever flying alone. Call me insane, but I had high anxiety about traveling alone. Thinking of every possible scenario that could go wrong.

From going through security and them finding something that I wasn't allowed to bring, to checking in a bag and them losing it and the most ridiculous scenario of me having to heavy of a bag that I would have trouble getting it out of the overhead bin and end up hitting someone in the eye with it and just die of embarrassment.

SO to avoid all of these possible scenarios from happening I decided to pack everything I needed for this getaway into the smallest duffel I had and be on my merry way!


Only Bring the Essentials


When I say only bring the essentials, I mean bring only the things you know you will wear, know you will use and know that you will die without. Like your phone charger. None of this "I need options" business. I am way guilty of this. It is hard not bringing everything in your closet. I can't tell you how many times I have brought clothes that I thought I'd wear and then ended up wearing the same thing like 2 times and then buying a souvenir shirt and wore that. My logic makes no sense! I am aware.





Find your smallest duffel, backpack, just whatever is small and compact and doesn't way you down. For reference the duffel bag I used was 10" x 18.5" x 10" and had a 24L capacity.

I fit 4 outfits (tops and bottoms), an extra pair of tennis shoes, all my bathroom essentials and more! So I am living proof that this is possible.


Plan Your Outfits


This was probably the most fun part about this whole packing light situation. I made sure to plan my outfits for each day. I tried them on before hand and tried to pack things that weren't very bulky, like multiple sweatshirts. This is easy to do if you are traveling to some place warm. If you are traveling to somewhere cold, you are clearly not from the Midwest.

Try to bring the least amount of footwear possible. Try only bringing the shoes on your feet, and something that goes with all the outfits you packed!




This will save a lot of room if you narrow down your shoe choices! I reccomend only trying to bring one sweater as well. Guess what you are going to do with that sweater. You are going to wear it on the plane! Your tiny bag ain't got no room for that. Do not bring another sweatshirt. Cause let's be real. You are not going to wear that "just incase" sweater. If all else fails, just buy a souvenir sweatshirt from wherever you are visiting! AND guess what. You'll have room to take it home. You're welcome.



The Clear Baggies


Alright! Go buy your mini travel goodies and some clear baggies. Only buy the essential mini necessities such as shampoo, conditioner, toothbrush... you know, just the things you absolutely NEED and can't seems to live without. **cough** dry shampoo **cough**




Put these on the very top of your suitcase, so when you are at security, you can just pull them out and have everything ready to go! Nothing more anxiety filled than holding up a line because your small shampoo is lost in the bottom of your small bag. Save yourself the hassle and plan these ahead of time!



The 2nd Carry on


So I know we are talking about traveling light and how to fit everything into one bag. BUT I like to think the 2nd carry on doesn't count. It's like bringing your purse, or a really small backpack. Mainly it just goes under the seat in front of you, so it's like it doesn't even exist. This bag I like to call the easy access. Put everything you need in arms reach in here. All your chargers, a book for reading, wallet, etc.




Anything you are afraid of getting damaged, like sunglasses, put in this bag. You have more control over this bag than the bag you just chucked in to the unknown overhead world.


Hope some of these travel tips and tricks make you want to buy a ticket and get the heck out of dodge and put them to the test! Bon Voyage to you and your next small destination getaway!



-Tanya















bottom of page